Press release

Agdatahub networks with ILVO (Flanders) and DataSpace Europe (Finland)

On Tuesday 18 June 2024, our French agricultural and agri-food data intermediation platform Agdatahub signed an agreement in Flanders (Belgium) with its Flemish counterparts ILVO (DjustConnect) and Finnish DataSpace Europe (Tritom). An initial use case involving potatoes is at the heart of this partnership. Other use cases involving the circulation of data should rapidly emerge to simplify the daily lives of farmers and improve their income.

The agreement that has just been signed between Agdatahub, ILVO and DataSpace Europe is a first step in the networking of national data exchange platforms within the European Union. For the first time, data-sharing platforms active in the agricultural and agri-food sector are linking up to form a transnational data space to facilitate data flows between Member States. This initiative is designed to solve the problems encountered by farmers and their partners throughout Europe.

ILVO Agdatahub DataSpace Europe
Signature de l’accord entre Agdatahub (France), ILVO (Flandre) et DataSpace Europe (Finlande). (© ILVO)

The three European platforms are committed to using the first successful interregional data flows to support more use cases, sectors and businesses across borders. The three partners aim to develop a European agricultural data space with efficient and fairly regulated connections between the different infrastructures.

Comment fonctionne l’échange de données ?

A data intermediation platform puts data holders in touch with potential consumers. By securing and simplifying the mass circulation of data, the aim is to unleash its potential for innovation. In compliance with European regulations, data from farms can only be exchanged if the farm manager from whom the data originates gives his or her permission for it to be used.

READ MORE: Agdatahub's infrastructure registered as an official data intermediary at European level

In recent years, around 80 platforms for sharing data in the agricultural and agri-food sector have been set up in Europe. These infrastructures facilitate the circulation of data between local players and act as data spaces on a national scale. Until now, it has been complicated to move data across borders. This requires companies to have the right contacts and to make multiple, costly connections with several platforms, each with different technical specifications, contracts and working methods. Networking platforms within a European dataspace addresses these issues.

"Data intermediation infrastructures must be able to be interconnected between all European Member States, in compliance with common governance. For the agricultural and agri-food sector, it is essential that data circulates and feeds useful solutions to increase farm incomes, improve the management of natural resources and inputs, and reduce the carbon footprint of production".

Sébastien Picardat, CEO of Agdatahub

An initial use case involving potatoes

An initial use case involving potato cultivation has led to the networking of the three data-sharing platforms Agdatahub, DjustConnect and DataSpace Europe.

Using its potato harvesters, Belgian machinery manufacturer AVR collects a huge amount of data: information on the fields farmed, potato varieties, yields, soil conditions, dates of operations in the field, etc. This data can be used in tools such as Agdatahub, DjustConnect and DataSpace Europe. This data can be used in decision-support tools for growers on a range of subjects: fertilisation, harvesting times, storage conditions, etc.

Thanks to the connection between Tritom (DataSpace Europe) and DjustConnect (ILVO), a Finnish farmer using an AVR machine can now easily consult the data coming from his equipment in his farm management system. The data can simply be transferred between the Belgian and Finnish platforms. The same is true in France, where farmers can now access data from their AVR machines and see it fed back into the MyEasyFarm software thanks to networking between ILVO and Agdatahub.

These two examples show just how important it is for agricultural data exchange infrastructures to be interconnected throughout the European Union, in order to simplify the day-to-day work of farmers and improve their incomes.


Find out more:

Confiance numérique
Agrocarburants 2BS
autorisation à la circulation des données

Communiqué

Agdatahub se met en réseau avec les plateformes d’ILVO (Flandre) et DataSpace Europe (Finlande)

Ce mardi 18 juin 2024, notre plateforme française d’intermédiation de données agricoles et agroalimentaires Agdatahub a signé en Flandre (Belgique) un accord avec ses homologues flamands ILVO (DjustConnect) et finlandais DataSpace Europe (Tritom). Un premier cas d’usage autour de la pomme de terre est à l’initiative de ce partenariat. D’autres cas d’usage autour de la circulation des données devraient émerger rapidement afin de simplifier le quotidien des agriculteurs et d’améliorer leurs revenus.

L’accord qui vient d’être signé entre Agdatahub, ILVO et DataSpace Europe est un début dans la mise en réseau de plateformes nationales d’échanges de données au sein de l’Union Européenne. Pour la première fois, des plateformes de partage de données actives dans le secteur agricole et agroalimentaire s’interconnectent à la façon d’un espace de données transnational afin de faciliter les flux de data entre Etats-Membres. Cette initiative doit solutionner les problèmes rencontrés par les exploitants agricoles et leurs partenaires dans toute l’Europe.

ILVO Agdatahub DataSpace Europe
Signature de l’accord entre Agdatahub (France), ILVO (Flandre) et DataSpace Europe (Finlande). (© ILVO)

Les trois plateformes européennes s’engagent à utiliser les premiers flux de données interrégionaux réussis en vue de soutenir davantage de cas d’usage, de secteurs et d’entreprises à travers les frontières. Les trois partenaires visent le développement d’un espace européen de données agricoles avec des connexions efficaces et équitablement réglementées entre les différentes infrastructures.

Comment fonctionne l’échange de données ?

Une plateforme d’intermédiation de données permet de mettre en relation les détenteurs de données avec de potentiels consommateurs. En sécurisant et en simplifiant la circulation massifiée des données, il s’agit de libérer leur potentiel à des fins d’innovation. En conformité avec la réglementation européenne, l’échange des données issues des exploitations agricoles se fait à condition que le gérant de l’exploitation d’où proviennent les données donne son autorisation à leur utilisation.

LIRE AUSSI : L’infrastructure d’Agdatahub enregistrée comme intermédiaire de données au niveau européen

Ces dernières années, environ 80 plateformes de partage de données dans le secteur agricole et agroalimentaire ont vu le jour en Europe. Ces infrastructures facilitent la circulation des données entre les acteurs locaux et servent d’espaces de données à l’échelle d’un pays. Jusqu’à présent, il était compliqué de faire franchir les frontières aux données. Cela nécessite en effet que les entreprises aient les bons contacts et réalisent de multiples et coûteuses connexions avec plusieurs plateformes, chacune ayant des spécifications techniques, des contrats et des méthodes de travail qui diffèrent. La mise en réseau des plateformes au sein d’un dataspace européen répond à ces problématiques.

« Les infrastructures d’intermédiation de données doivent pouvoir être interconnectées entre tous les Etat-Membre européens, dans le respect d’une gouvernance commune. Pour le secteur agricole et agroalimentaire, il est essentiel que les données circulent et alimentent des solutions utiles pour augmenter les revenus des exploitations agricoles, améliorer la gestion des ressources naturelles et des intrants et réduire l’empreinte carbone des productions. »

Sébastien Picardat, directeur général d’Agdatahub

Un premier cas d’usage autour de la pomme de terre

Un premier cas d’usage autour de la culture de la pomme de terre a conduit à la  mise en réseau des trois plateformes de partage de données Agdatahub, DjustConnect et DataSpace Europe.

Via ses arracheuses de patates, le machiniste belge AVR collecte énormément de données : des informations sur les champs exploités, les variétés de pommes de terre, le rendement, les conditions du sol, les dates des opérations sur le terrain, etc. Ces données peuvent être utilisées dans des outils d’aide à la décision utiles aux cultivateurs sur différents sujets : la fertilisation, les périodes de récolte, les conditions de stockage, etc.

Grâce à la connexion entre Tritom (DataSpace Europe) et DjustConnect (ILVO), un agriculteur finlandais qui utilise une machine AVR peut désormais consulter facilement les données remontant de son équipement dans son système de gestion agricole. La circulation des données se fait simplement entre les plateformes belges et finlandaises. Même chose en France, où des agriculteurs peuvent désormais accéder aux données provenant de leurs machines AVR et les voir remonter dans le logiciel de MyEasyFarm grâce à la mise en réseau entre ILVO et Agdatahub.

Ces deux exemples montrent bien combien il est important que les infrastructures d’échanges de données agricoles soient interconnectées à l’échelle de l’Union européenne en vue de simplifier le quotidien professionnel des exploitants agricoles et d’améliorer leurs revenus.


En savoir +

Confiance numérique
Agrocarburants 2BS
autorisation à la circulation des données